New Delhi: Three weeks ahead of assembly elections in the national capital, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday released names of candidates for all the 70 assembly constituencies. While the party has retained 46 members of the legislative assembly (MLAs), the list has new names including three leaders who had contested the recent Lok Sabha elections from Delhi. The names were approved by the political affairs committee on Tuesday. The notification for the election was issued by the poll body on Tuesday.

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal is contesting from his sitting seat New Delhi. The seat was Won by Kejriwal in 2013 when he contested against the then CM Sheila Dikshit. Deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia will also continue to contest from Patparganj. The party has also retained all the cabinet ministers.

“The AAP political affairs Committee has approved the names of candidates for all the 70 seats for the Delhi assembly elections. The existing MLAs will contest elections on 46 seats, 15 sitting legislators have been replaced and nine vacant seats will see new faces. There are eight women candidates. In 2015, there were six,” Sisodia said.

Raghav Chadha, Atishi and Dilip Pandey, who had unsuccessfully contested last year’s Lok Sabha polls, will contest from Rajinder Nagar, Kalkaji and Timarpur respectively. The list also includes former Congress MLA Ram Singh Netaji who joined the party on Monday and will contest from Badarpur constituency.

Among the other members, the party has dropped sitting member Adarsh Shastri and has nominated Vinay Kumar Mishra from Dwarka constituency. Shastri is the grandson of Lal Bahadur Shastri. Mishra, son of a former Congress MP, joined the party on Monday.

The party had conducted a constituency wise survey to measure the perfomance and popularity of their legislators. Based on the survey, the party decided to drop some members.

“Best wishes to all. Don’t be complacent. Work very hard. People have lot of faith in AAP and you. God bless,” Kejriwal said after the announcement.

The AAP is the first party to release names of candidates. The last date for filing nominations in Delhi is 21 January.

Delhi will go to poll on 8 February while results will be declared on 11 February. The state is seeing a three cornered contest between the AAP, Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. The AAP came to power in 2015 after winning a brute majority after winning 67 out of 70 seats.

Source link