Jasprit Bumrah stretches out © Associated Press

India have won the toss and chosen to bowl first, despite Virat Kohli’s suggestion that the track at Guwahati would be batting-friendly.

Jasprit Bumrah returns to lead the attack, right-arm quicks Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur both play, with Ravindra Jadeja failing to make the XI. Meanwhile Kuldeep Yadav is the only frontline wrist-spin option, Yuzvendra Chahal having been left out.

For Sri Lanka, Angelo Mathews will have to wait to play his first T20 since August 2018, after being left out in favour of another allrounder, Dhananjaya de Silva. Avishka Fernando is expected to bat in the top three alongside Danuska Gunathilaka and Kusal Perera. Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana and Lasith Malinga are the three frontline seam-bowling options, with Dasun Shanaka also in support. Wanindu Hasaranga is the only specialist spinner.

The weather is expected to remain good for the duration of the game.

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Shivam Dube, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Navdeep Saini 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: 1 Avishka Fernando, 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Kusal Perera (wk), 4 Oshada Fernando, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa 6 Dhananjaya de Silva, 7 Dasun Shanaka, 8 Isuru Udana, 9 Wanindu Hasaranga, 10 Lasith Malinga (capt.), 11 Lahiru Kumara

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @afidelf

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link