Indu Jain, chairman, Bennett Coleman & Company Limited (BCCL), was conferred the prestigious ICSI Lifetime Achievement Award by the Institute of Company Secretaries of India on Friday.

She won the award for “translating excellence in corporate governance into reality.”

Union minister of state for finance and corporate affairs Anurag Singh Thakur and former Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra presided over the awards ceremony as the guests of honour at a grand event in New Delhi where stalwarts of India Inc were celebrated for their exemplary performance in promoting good governance.

Addressing the gathering at the 19th edition of the ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance, Thakur said, “Being KMPs (key managerial personnel) and compliance officers, company secretaries take pride in referring themselves as governance professionals, and rightly so. You are the true governance officers of the Indian corporate sector.”

The other winners included Mahindra & Mahindra Limited, Apollo Tyres Limited, CS Atul Mehta and Mehta & Mehta Associates.

Source link